My Research Project: Ethics

dskjdffCONSENT: In part one, before participants share their screenshots the purpose of the research and their part in it will be fully explained.

‘My name is Rachel Measures and I am a student at Sheffield Hallam University.  Thank you for agreeing to help with my research about mobile apps as an indication of how different generations of individuals use mobile interfaces. By participating you will be required to supply your age, gender and screenshots of your home screen(s) on your preferred mobile device.

It will be assumed that if you send a screenshot, you have provided consent, and therefore permission for your contribution to be used in my project. Your identity will be kept anonymous and you have the right to withdraw at any time throughout the project.’

It will be assumed that if someone has sent me a screenshot they have given their permission for their information to be used within the context of my research project (as long as they are over 18 years old). In part two, the participants will be required to read and sign a consent form which will explain in writing their participation in the research.

dsjfhf

WITHDRAWAL: Participants will be given the right to withdraw during the project up until the findings are published.

CONFIDENTIALITY: All participants will be given anonymity; only their age, gender and the screenshots from part 1 and the answers from part 2 will be used. No names will be published.

BENEFICENCE: My research project will be valuable to scientific research within the media field.

INTEGRITY: The point of my project is to further scientific research and knowledge. I want to know how the use of mobile apps indicates how different generations of individuals use mobile interfaces.

NO MALFEASANCE: No harm, physical or mental, will be imposed on my participants.

IMPARTIALITY: My own opinions, expectations, biases or assumptions, will not be discussed with my participants to ensure that I, as the researcher, have no influence over the research I gain. My purpose in conducting the research is to find out how the use of mobile apps indicates how different generations of individuals use mobile interfaces.

Rachel Measures

I do not own the above images, they are from: http://searchcrm.techtarget.com/photostory/2240113158/User-interfaces-Mobile-CRM-applications/1/Salesforcecom-image-of-mobile-CRM-user-interface and http://www.acfe.com/ethics-and-compliance.aspx
Leave a Reply

