Vintage Stores: Yay or Nay?

In the past few days, I have had two of my close friends ‘drag’ me around vintage stores. I say drag because I don’t go of my own accord and I am totally boggled by the popularity. I would go so far to say that vintage clothing stores are ‘glorified charity shops’. Harsh, I know but the clothes seem to be modern fashion of known brands with usual price tags but already worn, battered and dirtied. So, yeah… safe to say I don’t get it. Why are vintage stores so popular!?

My friends adore the stuff, so I genuinely want to try and like it, and at the end of the day even I gave in and bought a skirt from one of these stores. An article I found explained the popularity in relation to the mainstream. People don’t want to do the mainstream because that’s what everyone else is doing. We all feel this.

In the past decade Vintage clothing has become very popular and has made its way into mainstream fashion, the advent of celebrities wearing vintage has also given the market a serious boost and has affirmed that vintage can be thoroughly modern and an alternative way to secure an individual look.

Another reason why vintage apparel has become so popular is because consumers buying vintage believe that mainstream fashion is less unique and high street fashion is too generic.

However, vintage is a current ‘trend’ and therefore kind of mainstream anyway. But because its a trend, its still popular.

Consumers follow trends and they want vintage that’s current and has an edge, choosing to buy vintage gives the fashion forward individual a chance to own a one-of-a-kind piece, allowing you to always wear your own eclectic style.

At the moment originality is the key to being stylish, vintage is a means of individual expression for those trying to achieve a fashion paradox, of fitting in whilst standing out.

Another reason vintage is well liked is simply because people can find stunning ‘one-off’ pieces that they can’t find anywhere else.

There will always be people who like individual and interesting pieces such as ‘one offs’ and ‘investment buys’, consumers are discovering that vintage is not only adaptable to current trends but are often timeless classics that can become a wardrobe stable.

I have to agree with this, because I actually found a really cool brand called Alice Takes A Trip. Having further looked at the brand’s website, I genuinely adore the clothing and like that they are different. See the website linked to see the types of clothing they do.

I found another article that seemed to resonate my own thoughts with some interesting ideas:

When someone dresses anachronistically, people usually want to know what statement they’re trying to make. But the meaning of vintage fashion has been changing for the last 50 years—ever since “dressing vintage” became something different than just wearing someone else’s old clothes.

Ironically, the inexpensive, improvised, anti-consumerist vintage fashion that the mods and hippies invented has given way to a form of vintage fashion that is consumerist, often expensive, and more restrictive in terms of what the “correct” way to wear it might be. But for those with a genuine love for the workmanship and details of old clothing, wearing vintage is still a joy. The hunt for the perfect piece on eBay is still thrilling. And the self-proclaimed “oddballs” and “freaks” like Caravella, Fenston, and Gallo, who have been dressing this way for decades, get their photos snapped at events, and regularly end up in the Style section of the New York Times.

Okay… so now I understand this ‘vintage culture’ a bit more. Feel free to continue this discussion in the comments below because I would genuinely like to hear other people’s opinions on the ‘vintage’ trend.

Below are some of my photos from my trips around Sheffield’s vintage stores, feel free to check them out.

Brag:

basjfsjh.png

A New Shop: 

jhhghg.png

Freshmans:

dvjhdfd.png

Summary: Vintage stores might be growing on me.

Photos are my own. #fashionismedia
Leave a Reply

